Dear Discoverer of My Hard Drive

A Daily Post Prompt:

Buyers, Beware?: The year is 2214, and your computer’s dusty hard drive has just resurfaced at an antique store. Write a note to the curious buyer explaining what he or she will find there.

My Response:

Dear Discoverer of This Hard Drive,

You have found my device for containing the inordinate amount of excess digital media that I couldn’t keep stored on my computer. You must know already that the things in this item will mean nothing to you outside of the interest you might have in what people “used to be like.” You may be disappointed if you don’t start out right when you try to go through my hard drive. There are old academic papers on here (the ones I’m proud of, if you care to know), and music that was not popular (and often not even in my own language). The pictures, however, will be what I think would be the most interesting for you. If you’re interested in knowing who I was, you’ll find me there. You’ll find my flowers, my skies, my living spaces, my achievements, my journeys, my projects, my celebrations, my people, my whole life. If you’re curious. And if I were you, I’d look there first. Have fun! Don’t abuse my stuff, though. If you have this, it probably means that I am dead. Please respect me (may I rest in peace) and my wishes as the creator of these memories by not destroying them, defacing them, or using them to ruin the reputation of me or my family. That’s all. Reasonable, right? You’re probably a decent person, too. I wish we could have met–but you’ll just have to get to know me through my files. I will unfortunately not have the pleasure at all of meeting you. Be safe. Be kind. Be awesome. Have a good life, Discoverer. Enjoy.

QR

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

