Pretty Damn Spicy, Please.

Here’s The Prompt I’m responding to:

The Spice of Success: If “failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor” (Truman Capote), how spicy do you like you success stories?
The Daily Post

My Response:

I want this success dish to be so spicy that I cry when I finish it.
I want it to poke at me with failure with sharp prongs
and make my stomach feel like it can barely contain all the flavor.
Take me for a ride with lots of downs but just enough ups to give me hope–
Don’t let me off easy.
Make it so that the story feels like it has carved a hole in my soul,
and the happy ending is the piece that fills it.

Sriracha to Keep the Dark Away

QR

Leave a comment

Filed under Poem

Leave a Reply

