Beautiful and it Helps Me Keep Things Real

You probably know the following poem…many of you might have also memorized this once during your school years. It’s “Stopping by the Woods on a Snowy Evening” by Robert Frost. It was the first poem I ever memorized, and at first I liked it only because it sounded beautiful. But as I continued to grow up and do more things, it has become my slogan-poem to slow it down sometimes to actually enjoy the life I have the privilege to lead. And when I say it in my head, I escape to a little forest, where the abundant snow muffles the screeching grinding busy sounds of everyday life.

Sometimes we can feel like we have miles and miles to go before we get to rest. When it’s all done, we think, then we’ll enjoy everything. But will we ever really be done? Not really. At some point, you do need to put everything aside to see the beauty that exists right before your eyes before it melts away. Others (like the horse in this poem) may be used to you working so hard and they may not want to stop when you do, or they may prevent you from taking the break you need to take. Do your best, though. Don’t miss the things that give you joy while you’re doing everything you’re supposed to be doing. I lose sight of that all the time, unfortunately. I forget how precious and lovely the world can be because right now I have to do this and this and this…many of us have that kind of worker-bee spirit about us. Whenever I see this poem again, though, I am reminded that there’s more I that I can have the pleasure of paying attention to. Enjoy!

Stopping by the Woods on a Snowy Evening

Whose woods these are I think I know
his house is in the village though
he will not see me stopping here
to watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
to stop without a farmhouse near
between the woods and frozen lake,
the darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
to ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are beautiful, dark and deep,
but I have promises to keep
and miles to go before I sleep
and miles to go before I sleep.

This post was a response to this prompt: By Heart

1 Comment

Filed under Poem

One response to “Beautiful and it Helps Me Keep Things Real

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Hot Little Biscuit” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

