How to Live Thousands of Lives and Still Be Happy with Your Own

This post is a response to the Daily Post Prompt entitled “No Time to Waste.” It goes like this:
Fill in the blank: “Life is too short to_____.” Now write a post telling us how you’ve come to that conclusion.

Life is too short to forget to read.

Reading is like experiencing. How can you be content with just one life, no matter how amazing you think you are? There’s so much more out there! The more you read, the more situations and lives you can live through, the more you can know, the more perspectives you can see through…these can all add up to a greater level of understanding about the world. It wouldn’t be a bad goal to want to understand as much as you can about this life before you have to leave it.

Life is too short to care too much.

I also like to remember the serenity prayer: “God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change and the courage to change the things that I can.” I keep finding that some things just don’t matter as much as I think they do. If I remember my serenity portion of the prayer, I can also remember to be content with my life. With the courage portion, I can remember to take up my armor and change the things that I have the power to change, for I am powerful (I think).

So. Don’t be content with only your life, and then remember to be serene about it anyway (but only for the things that you cannot alter). For the things that you can change: be brave. You can do this!

QR

Leave a comment

Filed under Prompt Posts

Leave a Reply

