This Term…? And Autobiographical Art

Today’s Daily Post prompt is called Salad Days, and it’s asking us to talk about a time when we had some “good old days”. But…salad days. Salad days? I can’t make a connection between the topic and the title. How do “salad days” become good days? These sound like they refer to days during which one must only consume salads, which is not appealing. They would be healthy days, but not necessarily good ones.

Anyway, if we’re to stick to the recommended topic, I’d have to say that I don’t have any “good ol’ days” yet. I’m still young, so for me the old days are pure childhood…and I don’t remember a lot of it. For one thing, I remember not worrying about calories back then, which felt like freedom but wreaked havoc on my body.

So salad days or good old days…whichever. I don’t think I can get much past this salad days concept. Since this post was a bit of a dud, I will leave you with a quote I found recently that I really like:

“All art is autobiographical; the pearl is the oyster’s autobiography.”
-Federico Fellini

Everything we write here contains a trace of our own lives. Even though we’re not always writing about ourselves, little hints are enclosed in the work about the where we’re at in our lives. We leave pieces of ourselves in our art so that, when we come back to it later, it feels like a memory. I guess if I ever want to reminisce about the salad/good old days I’d just go back and read what I’ve already written.
Over and out now.

QR

1 Comment

Filed under Prompt Posts

One response to “This Term…? And Autobiographical Art

  1. Pingback: Life Is Beautiful | Rahul Creatrix's Blog

Leave a Reply

