“There Are No Strings on Me”

Alright, Daily Post. I’m not sure if I can pick some songs to sum up my entire life…I wouldn’t even know where to begin. I do want to talk about something music-related today, though. One of my first posts on this blog was about my experience while looking up information about marionette dolls. I talked about an observation that there’s something about these kinds of toys that subconsciously creeps people out. The internet is filled with material which depicts marionette dolls as dark things, perhaps due to a general fear of being controlled by an outside entity and yet unable to control the self.

A few weeks ago, I was informed of an interesting development which reaffirmed what I found about the general feeling about these dolls. If you haven’t yet heard, there’s going to be a new Avengers movie! See the trailer below, and listen closely to the music:

Did it sound familiar? It might If you’ve been exposed to Disney in your lifetime: it’s Pinocchio’s “I’ve Got No Strings on Me” song.

By now, this allusion is no big secret, but the Avengers movie is probably one of the last places I thought I’d find a connection to something I’ve been thinking about! Did you hear how leery the Avengers version was? It gives me the chills each time I watch the trailer. It’s interesting that even Hollywood has picked up on and exploited the potential creep factor of marionette dolls with strings that control them.

So, in response to the Daily Post’s prompt entitled “Cue the Violins,” I have chosen a theme song for some of my blog posts instead of my entire life. Sounds fair to me.

QR

P.S. For added fun:

10 Comments

Filed under Non-Fiction, Prompt Posts

10 responses to ““There Are No Strings on Me”

  1. RNE

    It makes sense, Marvel is owned by Disney. It is rather chillingly, haunting. Such a creepily executed trailer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • quotidianrevision

      Yes, it does make sense! I didn’t remember that, though, until seeing this trailer. And I agree: it’s already so well done! I can’t wait to see the full movie. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  2. This is an incredible post, I had to watch both clips a couple of times, the first time I watched I completely never heard the music, only after re-reading your post and closing my eyes to listen to the music only it came alive. Very creepy, but amazing in the execution and how subtle things can appear when one is not aware!

    Like

    • quotidianrevision

      The same thing happened to me the first time I saw that trailer! It was only afterward that someone pointed my attention to the song. It’s almost a little creepier for being so subtle…
      Thank you for stopping by and for commenting! I’m glad that you liked this post!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I do, this is one of the best posts I’ve come across in my time on WordPress, thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

      • quotidianrevision

        Wow, thank you! I’m flattered to hear that it’s one of the best you’ve seen! Thanks! I’m loving what your doing on your blog, too! Keep up the wonderful writing! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you, I first watched the Pinocchio clip (innocent looking thing) before reading your post or watching the trailer, and I so enjoyed it I went back to read the post and the trailer, and it was really thought-provoking to be put together like that, especially since the first time I watched the trailer I never heard the soundtrack – had to go back and re-listen, now I keep on thinking “I have no strings attached to me”, thank you for your kind comments re my blog! I’m enjoying it while it lasts because I have never been a writer, so the whole experience is new to me 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: “I know. I know you can fight. But it’s our wits that make us men.” | Non perfect writing

  4. Reblogged this on Passion through Poetry and commented:
    Everyone caught up –
    Entangled in strings, I had
    Strings but now I’m free

    There are no strings on me

    Thanking you, quotidianrevisions
    For pointing us to those strings

    Like

  5. Pingback: Thanking Y’all | Passion through Poetry

Leave a Reply

