String of Pearl Plant…Finally!

I have been waiting for MONTHS for my local plant shop to have these babies in stock. I didn’t want to try to order them online, because I feared they wouldn’t make the trip. Instead, I kept visiting the shop, checking to see if they were in or not. Last week, they were! I couldn’t wait to plant this darling, so when I did I spammed my Facebook feed with pictures of the finished product (I was SO excited). This is the string of pearls plant (Senecio rowleyanus), and it’s one of the most unique specimens I’ve ever seen in real life. You can see why I was so pumped for it:

  
It’s a succulent, so I layered the glass bowl with pea gravel, charcoal, and succulent/cacti soil (I did not have any moss, but I just couldn’t wait any more).

  
I thought about purchasing a bigger glass container to make it into a full-fledged terrarium, but I decided against it in favor of allowing the delicate little tendrils fall over the edge of the containter.

I’m so, SO happy with how it turned out, and I’ll be looking to add to my collection soon!

QR

Leave a comment

Filed under Non-Fiction, Personal

Leave a Reply

